top of page
Search

5 tips to combat writer's block

Updated: Aug 10, 2019

I may have only one book published, as of June 2019, but I have been writing in one way or another all my life; ever since I could hold a pencil. And let me tell you, I know writer's block like I know sunburn after spending too much time at the beach. Writer's block comes for us all but not all of us get through it the same way. Below, I have 5 easy things that I usually do if I've been hit with writer's block. And these are so simple you can do it to.


1. Do something that requires no brain power. For example, I cut grass. I put my shades on, unplug from anything electronic, and just cut grass. Another mindless task I may set myself to is washing dishes. But, a mindless task to you may not be mindless to me. Pick something that's for you and forget about your work in progress for a minute.


2. Stimulate your brain. This is the opposite of everything I just wrote, but it does work; for me at least. Something that stimulates my brain play video games, (PS4, x-box one, etc.) I don't have any of these consoles anymore so now I take time off and get caught up on Netflix or Hulu. Sometimes I might get out paint and a canvas and try to create something. I fail, more often than not, but the exercise serves its purpose. Just pick something that makes you think. Work on your car, paint, etc. Just stimulate your brain!


3. Redirect your brain. I am now currently working on three different stories. From time to time I refocus on a different WIP just to change things up. Sometimes, when writer's block hits me, I may decide to shift my focus to another work in progress. The three stories I'm working are completely different genre's so it actually works for me. If you don't have more than one WIP, maybe go pick up a book and read. Make sure it's in a different genre than your WIP though.


4. Turn your brain off. This one is easy. Just sleep. Don't write. Give yourself time away. Do life. Whatever that means to you, just do that. Your story will be there waiting for you.


5. Change gears. Market your WIP. If you are wanting to publish, traditionally or self-publish, it would only benefit you in the long run if you start networking NOW. Create a website. Start a Facebook and Instagram business page. Get on Twitter and build a following. Market, market, market! When you have writer's block, that is a perfect opportunity to talk up your soon to be novel, novella, etc.

10 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page